Test your knowledge: How many times has Porsche won Le Mans?

Stuttgart's back on top

Porsche 919 2015 Le Mans

PORSCHE took a scintillating victory at this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours. After battling with Audi for much of the race, the Stuttgart-based marque came out on top and the Porsche 919 of Nick Tandy from Bedfordshire, Nico Hulkenberg, the German Force India F1 driver, and Earl Bamber, from New Zealand, took the honours.

Browse the Porsches for sale on driving.co.uk

It was Porsche’s first outright win at Le Mans since 1998, yet the company has racked up more victories than any other, including Audi, which has dominated in recent years.

Do you know how many times Porsche has won Le Mans? Scroll down for the answer.









Keep going …










The #23 Porsche Konstruktionen KG Porsche 917K driven by Richard Attwood and Hans Herrmann during the World Sportscar Championship 24 Hours of Le Mans race on 13th June 1970 at the Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans, France. (Photo by Rainer W. Schlegelmilch/Getty Images)

Porsche has won the Le Mans 24 Hours 17 times in total. Its first victory was in 1970, with the famous Porsche 917K. It followed that up with another win the following year and again in 1976, 1977, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1998 and now 2015.

Audi has the second largest number of wins (13) followed by Ferrari (nine), Jaguar (seven) and Bentley (six).

Click to read car REVIEWS or search NEW or USED cars for sale on driving.co.uk