Race of Champions returns to London for 2015

Olympic Stadium plays host on November 20-21

Race of Champions

WHAT DO the world’s racing and rally champions do in the off-season to let down their hair? Well, for the likes of Sebastian Vettel, Tom Kristensen, Petter Solberg and Mick Doohan, fighting it out to be crowned “best of the best” at the annual Race of Champions is the ticket and for the first time since 2008, this year the Roc party is coming to London.

Click to read car REVIEWS or search NEW or USED cars for sale on driving.co.uk

The motor sport spectacular, which sees the stars of F1, endurance racing, rallying, superbikes and touring cars duking it out two-by-two on a single loop course with parallel tracks and a crossover bridge, will be entertaining the crowds at the former Olympic Stadium in Stratford, London, on November 20 and 21.

Drivers compete in a mix of vehicles including the Ariel Atom Cup, KTM X-Bow, Audi R8 LMS supercar and the trademark Roc off-road buggy.

On the Friday evening, drivers will pair up in national teams for the Roc Nations Cup, which aims to prove which country has the fastest racers.

The following day it’s every driver for themselves as the Champion of Champions competition takes place. British former F1 driver turned commentator David Coulthard has confirmed that he will be swapping microphone for racing helmet again this year after taking the title for the first time in 2014. It’s unknown whether his Roc Nations Cup partner Susie Wolff will be joining him in Team Scotland.

Drivers confirmed so far include:

  • Sebastian Vettel, four-time Formula 1 World Champion
  • Tom Kristensen, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner
  • Petter Solberg, World Rallycross Champion 2014, World Rally Champion 2003
  • David Coulthard, reigning ROC Champion of Champions
  • Mick Doohan, five-time 500cc MotoGP World Champion
  • Daniel RICCIARDO, three-time Formula 1 grand prix winner
  • Jorge LORENZO, double MotoGP World Champion
  • Nico HÜLKENBERG, F1 star and 2015 Le Mans 24 Hours winner
  • Nelson PIQUET Jr, reigning FIA Formula E Champion
  • Felipe MASSA, 11-time Formula 1 grand prix winner

Tickets start at £24 per person. Visit www.raceofchampions.com for more information and to buy tickets.